Posted by: Donna Douglass | Saturday December 6, 2014

a gingerbread lesson

We made the first batch of Christmas cookies today. Zoe helped me mix the Pepparkakor (gingerbread) batter. I mixed while she held on to the spoon. Then I removed my hand. She moved the spoon up and down but it didn’t progress toward mixing the batter. "This is hard," she said. Kind of reminded me of making progress toward becoming who God made me to be: I work really hard and sometimes even think I’m getting somewhere, but looking back I recognize that it is God’s unseen "hand on the spoon" that has accomplished the work. Unless He changes me, I spin my wheels really fast but the body of the car goes nowhere.

Leave a Reply

Categories

